Fierce Warrior

__fierce_warrior___by_chaosangel256

This is one of these great passages for when life seems to be kicking one in the proverbial pants. Jeremiah uses such great word pictures! This was is a favorite because of the “but” sentence at the end. No mattle how bad things got, and they got way bad … he was always looking up.

Just thought I would share this.

 

Jeremiah 20:7-11 (The Message)

 7-10You pushed me into this, God, and I let you do it.
   You were too much for me.
And now I’m a public joke.
   They all poke fun at me.
Every time I open my mouth
   I’m shouting, “Murder!” or “Rape!”
And all I get for my God-warnings
   are insults and contempt.
But if I say, “Forget it!
   No more God-Messages from me!”
The words are fire in my belly,
   a burning in my bones.
I’m worn out trying to hold it in.
   I can’t do it any longer!
Then I hear whispering behind my back:
   ”There goes old ‘Danger-Everywhere.’ Shut him up! Report him!”
Old friends watch, hoping I’ll fall flat on my face:
   ”One misstep and we’ll have him. We’ll get rid of him for good!”

 11But God, a most fierce warrior, is at my side.
   Those who are after me will be sent sprawling—
Slapstick buffoons falling all over themselves,
   a spectacle of humiliation no one will ever forget.

Amen Jeremiah!!!

Leave a Reply

