Road Trip To Canby, California

Spring fever has hit with a vengence! Yesterday was a beautiful sunny day and I just had to go out on a mini road trip! The first stop was Lower Klamath Lake in the Klamath Basin National Wildlife Refuge. Klamath and Tule Lake is known for all sorts of migrating birds. The area provides overwintering grounds for scores of bald eagles, and others. The picture above as taken from Hill Road which goes through the Tulelake refuge.

p31200112

After spending some time in the refuges I headed over to the Lava Beds National Monument. Thats how these road trips go, I just keep tacking on to it until the day is done! Anyway … I forgot about the wildfire that was there a year or two ago, so I was surprised about how black it was in its Northern parts! The Lava Beds is a stark landscape ( And I like these landscape, seemy link below for pictures of my trip to the Oregon Outback a few weeks ago.) Anyways the fire really turned the place into a surreal landscape!p31200235

Alas, somewhere in the middle of nowhere I got a flat tire. Sheesh! While on the road changing the flat I took this shot.Hey … If your gonna have a flat this would be the spot to be! Beautiful!

p31200302

Mind you, I wasn’t really aiming for Canby but I only had this “temporary tire” and Canby was the nearest town and I was hoping to get a new tire there. But alas, no tire shops here and I had to limp along to the thriving metropolis of Alturas (Actually a favorite place to visit of mine) to find a tire shop. Canby turned out to be a friendly place and I got a bite to eat before heading out. I will have to stay at this Hotel some time!

p31200322

On my way home I took this picture of an old barn outside of Canby. I kind of have a thing for old barns as my wife will tell you, so I couldn’t pass this one up! All in all this was a great little trip even with the unexpected … Maybe BECAUSE of the unexpected! Life is like that sometimes isn’t it? lolAnd … How was your day?

Link to Outback Post: https://thundercatt99.wordpress.com/2009/02/27/671/

One Response to “Road Trip To Canby, California”

  1. lifelessons4u Says:

    Good photos! I’ve also enjoyed reading your blog. It’s nice to read a blog that has something to say. Keep up the good work! Take care, A.

Leave a Reply

