Letting Go

Broken_Heart_by_Tortured_Raven

A sad poem …

Letting Go by Judy Burnette


How do you walk away from someone you love

And take the road of friend;

Can you reroute the course you have taken

And start over once again?


I don’t really want to let you go

But inside me I know I must;

The times we’ve loved . . . the times you’ve left

My heart says stay . . . but it’s my mind I must trust.


We have shared so much together

Laughter . . . fun times . . . tears;

Yet sometimes we can’t turn back time

We must walk away, and allow ourselves to heal.


I know one day you will be happy

And your soulmate you will find;

I know we each have one out there

Even if for now . . . only in our minds.


May life be gentle with you

May God’s best come your way;

And on some quiet tomorrow

You will realize things were better this way.

Leave a Reply

